Getting active. The next generation.

Climate change concerns me. I spend a lot of time thinking about it. I have a niece and nephews. Lately there seems to be barely a week that goes by without a new arrival amongst my friends and acquaintances . It is an incredibly exciting time. I hope to have children of my own one day too. The one uncomfortable thought that I carry with me however is that this new generation may be inheriting a climate spinning out of control before they are old enough to even understand the problem or do anything about it. The next 10 to 20 years is absolutely crucial if we are going to prevent climate change passing irreversible tipping points and as it stands the transition to a carbon neutral future is happening far too slowly.

This why I need to get active, to do my part in providing this new generation with the promising future they deserve. The irony is that the fear I have for the future of the next generation sometimes leaves me paralysed and stops me getting out there and getting active. That is why I have started this blog. I hope that this blog will help me deal with my fears and concerns and turn them into inspiration, engagement and hope for the future. My professional and personal interest in mental health tells me that the first step in dealing with a problem is to face up to the reality of it, not to turn away. Only then can you begin to take control of it. This process can be incredibly empowering and fill people with hope. This is what “Climate Change Therapy” means to me.

One thought on “Getting active. The next generation.

Leave a Reply

